p.(719) 635-7886

former prosecutor now fighting for you

Colorado Springs DUI Lawyer

In most states in the U.S., being caught driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 will get you a DUI charge (Driving Under the Influence), which is a very serious traffic violation. Colorado has an additional charge, DWAI, Driving While Ability Impaired, which can apply at lower BAC levels if it can be shown that your ability to drive was affected to any degree whatsoever by alcohol, drugs, or a combination of both, the BAC for DWAI is between .051 and .079, much lower than a DUI. If you’re faced with such a predicament, you need a successful DWAI and DUI attorney.

DWAI or DUI: Which Is It?

If you are pulled over and asked to blow into a Breathalyzer or take a blood or urine test, the result will determine if you can be charged for either type of impaired driving. If you blow above .08 BAC, you can be charged with DUI. Between .05 and .08 can get you a DWAI charge. This means that you can be charged with a criminal offense for driving home after virtually any social drinking.

Colorado Springs DUI Lawyer

Penalties for DUI and DWAI in Colorado

Penalties for both DUI and DWAI are severe, potentially including stiff fines, community service, suspension of your license, and jail time, even for a first offense. Penalties become more severe for subsequent offenses.

Potential DUI penalties for a first offense:

  • Up to $1,000 in fines
  • Between 5 and 365 days in jail
  • As much as 96 hours of community service
  • Twelve points on your license
  • A nine-month to a one-year suspension of your license
  • Substance abuse treatment program
  • 10 days in jail or work release mandatory if the BAC is above .200

Potential DWAI penalties for a first offense:

  • Fines up to $500
  • From 2 to 180 days in jail
  • Up to 48 hours of community service
  • Eight points on your license
  • 10 days in jail or work release mandatory if the BAC is above .200

Potential penalties for second and third offenses:

  • In Colorado, a second offense DUI or DWAI requires a mandatory minimum of 10 days in jail/work release, while a third offense requires a mandatory minimum of 60 days jail/work release, no good time on the mandatory minimum portion of the sentence
  • All of the requirements of a first offense, with additional alcohol therapy.
  • Supervised probation.
  • Increased fines.
  • Additional consequences against your driver’s license.

Do You Need a DUI Lawyer?

Because of the severity of the penalties for drinking and driving in Colorado, you should always consult an experienced DUI attorney. You want to avoid jail time and you need to be able to drive to work if you are to continue earning a living. An experienced and knowledgeable Colorado DUI/DWAI attorney in your area can raise many defenses to these charges, and while there is never a guarantee that you’ll get off completely unscathed, the right DUI lawyer can protect your constitutional rights, work to minimize the negative consequences, and sometimes even get the charges dropped.

Your lawyer can require the prosecutor to show that the arrest was proper and that you were informed of your rights. The prosecution must also be able to show that the testing equipment was functioning properly and that the officer was trained and certified to operate it. These are just a few examples of areas where a good lawyer can sometimes have your charges dismissed.

Experienced DUI/DWAI Defense in Colorado Springs

If you’ve been charged with DUI or DWAI anywhere in the State of Colorado, you’ll find experienced, knowledgeable, and committed DUI and DWAI lawyer at the Law Office of Steven Rodemer, LLC in Colorado Springs. Attorney Steven Rodemer is a former prosecutor who knows the workings of the court system and also understands how to navigate DMV administrative proceedings. He has an excellent record of using the law to the benefit of his clients, having charges dismissed or reduced whenever possible and obtaining the least oppressive sentences, in many cases avoiding jail time or license suspension for first offenses.

As an American, you have many constitutional rights that must be upheld. The right to counsel when facing criminal charges is among the most important of these rights. When you hire Colorado Springs criminal attorney Steve Rodemer, you can be confident that your rights will be protected, and you will realize the best available outcome with the least negative impact on your life and your future.

What Our Clients Have to Say

“Steven Rodemer is hands down the best lawyer to go to in a time of serious need. He made me feel like their was hope and got my whole case dismissed. He’s very professional and represents himself very well in court. I’m so greatful I hired Mr. Rodemer as my lawyer and can’t thank him enough for everything he’s done for me and my case.”

Rating: 5/5 ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Rebecca Daugherty
December 19, 2018
Read more reviews on Google!

Example Case Results


Client charged with Vehicular Assault, Driving Under the Influence, Prohibited Use of a Weapon. Following a week-long Jury trial, my client was found NOT GUILT of all charges.


The client was charged with 2 counts of vehicular homicide, 2 counts of vehicular assault, DUI and reckless driving. Following a lengthy jury trial including complicated expert testimony by toxicologists, numerous accident reconstructionists and medical doctors, my client was found NOT GUILTY of all charges by an El Paso County Jury.

Free Case EvaluationFill out the form below to receive a free consultation on your case.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
*The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this or associated pages, documents, comments, answers, emails, or other communications should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information on this website is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing of this information does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.